Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is appointed by the Shareholders Committee. There are seven directors with two directors retiring by rotation every year. Directors are responsible for governance and setting the strategic direction of the business. The board meet monthly.

Shareholders Committee

Representing the interests of all shareholders, the Shareholders Committee consists of seven members. Four are voted on by shareholders with the remaining three appointed by the Ashburton District Council. Key responsibilities include; appointing directors, scrutinising the Statement of Corporate Intent and monitoring the performance of the company on behalf of shareholders.

Board of Directors

Phil McKendry Professional Photo 2

Phil McKendry


Phil is a farmer based in Mid Canterbury and a company director. He has governance experience in an Ashburton-based farm supply buying group and in large-scale community irrigation development. Phil was appointed as a director in 2004.

Richard Fitzgerald Professional Photo 1

Richard Fitzgerald

Richard is a professional agribusiness executive and consultant, with an active involvement in an intensive irrigated Mid Canterbury-based family farm. He is a Nuffield Scholar and formerly the CEO of NZ Young Farmers and the Primary Industry Capability Alliance. He has a broad base of corporate experience which includes a number of national leadership roles, collaboration across sector groups, and strategic development and implementation.


Paul Munro

Paul has over 25 years of financial and commercial experience across a broad cross section of companies and industries including a 24 year career as a Corporate Finance Partner at Deloitte and six years as CEO of a publicly owned investment company which managed a portfolio of commercial infrastructure investments. Paul also has 10+ years’ experience as an Independent Director with his Board experience including current or former Director roles with MHV Water, Online Distribution, Lynn River, Orion New Zealand, Toitu Envirocare, Central Plains Water, Spanbild Holdings, and Venues Otautahi. Paul is a Chartered Accountant Fellow (FCA) of CAANZ and a Chartered Fellow (CFInstD) of the New Zealand Institute of Directors.

Andrew Barlass Professional Photo 1

Andrew Barlass

Andrew is a senior finance industry professional who lives in Mid Canterbury and currently oversees a large dairy farming business. His local and international experience spans a range of industries including regulated utilities, infrastructure, airports, ports, funds management and industrial and agribusiness sectors.

Janine Holland Professional Photo 1

Janine Holland

Janine currently works for Environment Canterbury as the Ashburton Zone Delivery Lead, and is based in Methven. She has a wealth of experience across the fields of resource management, local and central government, public relations, community relations and journalism. Janine is also a trustee of Methven Care Trust.

Tony Gray Professional Photo 1

Tony Gray

Currently Executive Project Advisor to the Hastings District Council, Tony was previously Chief Financial Officer at Hastings District Council. Prior to that, Tony held the senior finance role at Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu, Mighty River Power, and TVNZ. Tony is currently a director of Civic Financial Services, Artemis Nominees, Quality Roading and Services (Wairoa), EA Networks, Centralines and is chair of Ngāti Pūkenga Investments, Tātau Tātau o Te Wairoa Commercial and Te Turapa Wai Ariki.

Anna Wilson WEB 2

Anna Wilson

Board Intern

Shareholders Committee Members

Ian Cullimore

Ian Cullimore


Ian has been a Shareholder Committee Representative since 2003. He has owned and operated Cullimore Engineering for 31 years. Ian is also a member of the CPIT Employers Advisory Committee and the Ashburton Heart Foundation.

Alister Lilley

Alister Lilley

Alister is an Ashburton businessman with ownership interests in the Retail and Service industry sectors including local commercial properties. Alister is an experienced company Director and Chairman who was elected to the shareholders committee in 2017.

Jeanette Maxwell

Jeanette Maxwell

Jeanette Maxwell is married with three children and farms in partnership with her husband on a 300ha foothills sheep and beef property in Mid Canterbury. Jeanette has been actively involved in Federated Farmers since 2005 and has held the role of Meat and Fibre Chairperson and a National board member along with other portfolios. Jeanette is also involved with a variety of organisations both locally and nationally.

David Ward

David Ward

David runs a spray irrigated cropping and stock finishing farm near Fairton with his wife Hilary. He has been a member of the Shareholders' Committee since 2006.


Robert Newlands

Robert is Managing Director of Newlands Auto Electrical in Ashburton, Rolleston and Timaru Batteries in Timaru. He is a 50% shareholder in Canterbury Communications Ltd. Robert is a member of the Automotive Electrical Engineering Reference Group with the Motor Industry Training Organisation and a committee member of the Mid Canterbury Mountain Bike Club. Robert has been a member of the Shareholders' Committee since 2017.

Anne Marett

Anne Marett

Formerly a registered nurse Anne is a Chartered Accountant and recently retired after selling her accountancy business in Ashburton. She is currently a member of the Professional Conduct Committee of the NZ Institute of Chartered Accountants, and a Director of AML ME Ltd which provides anti money laundering audits to a number of clients. Anne has been a Ashburton District Council appointee to the EA networks Shareholders committee since 2013

Tony Potts WEB 2

Tony Potts